Telephone : + (94) 112 055318,+ (94) 112 058994
Fax : + (94) 112 338290, + (94) 112 320828
E-mail : apbsl@sltnet.lk

Association of Professional Bankers’ Anniversary Convention on 13th & 14th August

Association of Professional Bankers (APB) - Sri Lanka, the country’s premier professional body for career bankers will hold its 24th Anniversary Convention on 13th & 14th August 2012 at the Cinnamon Grand on the theme ‘Sustainability in Volatility: the Bankers’ Challenge’.

Annual Convention is APB’s key learning and development activity that brings together leading professionals and eminent academics to share, discuss and generate new ideas for the development of the industry as well as to facilitate networking among the banking professionals, industry experts and eminent academics. This year’s theme “Sustainability in Volatility: the Bankers’ Challenge” is quite topical and reflects the role that the Bankers in Sri Lanka are expected to play in the present context. Sri Lanka is ready to embark on a new journey with many hopes of prosperity in a context where peace and stability, two key elements which are required for sustainable development are firmly established.

The Inaugural Ceremony on Monday, the 13th August 2012 will be graced by Mr. Ajith Nivard Cabraal the Governor of the Central Bank as the Chief Guest while the CEO of CIMB Investment Bank, Malaysia Dato’ Charon Wardini Mokhzani will be the Keynote speaker for the evening.

Four technical sessions and a panel discussion focusing on the foremost concerns of bankers today such as economic volatility, risk management, human capital development, good governance and repositioning of the industry will follow on 14th August and renowned academics and eminent professionals such as Prof. H. H. D. N. P. Opatha – Head, Dept. of Human Resources Management, University of Sri Jayawardenepura, Prof. Sirimal Abeyratne - Head, Dept. of Economics, University of Colombo, Mr. P. Samarasiri - Asst. Governor, Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Mr.  Kandiah Neelakandan - Precedent Partner, Murugesu & Neelakandan, Mr. Arittha R Wikramanayake - Precedent Partner, Nithya partners, Mr. Dinesh Weerakkody - Chairman, Commercial Bank of Ceylon, Mr. Harris Premaratne - Managing Director, Cargills Bank, Mr. Amal Sanderatne – CEO, Frontier Research, Mr. Jehaan Ismail - Group CEO, First Capital Group, Mr. Nihal Welikala, Mr. Trevin Fernandopulle - Chief Risk Officer, DFCC Bank and Mr. Sanjeewa Senanayake will take part in these sessions. Approximately 400 delegates are expected to attend the Convention this time. 

‘The growth and competitiveness of the banking industry will depend very much on how accurately we predict the challenges and find ways to proactively overcome them and we believe that the APB Annual Convention will facilitate the bankers to equip themselves with the requisite knowledge, competence and skills to prepare themselves.’ said the APB President and Chairman Convention Committee Mr. H. M. Hennayake Bandara.  



     Copyright © 2004 - 2014 by Concept & Development By
     Association of Professional Bankers - Sri Lanka I-WEB SOLUTIONS